You Have The Right To Report Workplace Injuries
Many workers are afraid to report a workplace injury to their employers. They fear retaliation, including demotion or wrongful termination. But any worker injured in a workplace accident has the right to report their injury and file for workers’ compensation benefits.
The Law Office of Frank A. Cetero can help you protect this right. For over 50 years, our attorneys have helped clients in the Suffolk County area report injuries to their employers without fear of retaliation. If a workplace accident caused your injury, then we will stand up for your rights through every step of the reporting process.
Is There A Deadline?
You must inform your supervisor of your workplace accident within 30 days or you may not be eligible to receive compensation. If your injury involves occupational hearing loss, then you have up to three months to report this to your supervisor. However, you have up to two years after the accident to file a claim with the New York State Workers’ Compensation Board.
Retaliation Is Against The Law
Every New Yorker has the right to report on-the-job injuries. However, supervisors, colleagues or employers sometimes try to punish workers for reporting accidents. This is retaliation, and it is illegal. Some examples of retaliation include:
- Reassignment to less desirable projects
- Reducing pay
- Poor performance evaluations
- Wrongful termination
Law Office of Frank A. Cetero will protect your right to a retaliation-free workplace. If you are currently experiencing retaliation, we will fight to hold the responsible party accountable.
Learn More About Reporting Your Injury
When you make a free consultation at Law Office of Frank A. Cetero, our attorney will evaluate your situation and help you decide the best method to report your workplace injury. To get your free consultation, call our office in West Islip at 631-517-0941 or send us an email.